Internal Networks - Where is the "Final Inputs" bar?

Started by reck, August 13, 2012, 11:39:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

reck

I've never used the internal networks before but when i've downloaded clip files in the past some of them have been packaged up into a single node with the rest of the structure in the internal network. I figured i'd have a go but when I tried copying some nodes into the internal network of my own I don't have the "final inputs" bar at the bottom.

Something else I noticed in that in the example clip file I downloaded the top level node, a colour adjust shader, doesn't have an input arrow at the top, when I add a new colour adjust shader it does have an input arrow.

[attachimg=1]

If I look at the internal network on the first colour adjust shader, the one that came with the clip file, it has a final inputs bar so I can connect up nodes to it.

[attachimg=2]

If I look at my colour adjust shader (colour adjust 2), I don't get the final inputs bar so I can't connect up internal nodes to it.

[attachimg=3]

So how do you go about placing a node network into another nodes internal network and connecting it up? Also why the inconsistency with with the input arrows and final inputs bar?

Tangled-Universe

As far as I know you need to manually tweak the .tgd in a text editor to place a group of nodes inside another node.

I don't think it's inconsistent. If you place nodes inside another and those nodes act as input for that node then to me its logical that there's no input anymore at the top-level since the input is already in use one level down.

reck

Is there really no way to create an internal network from within Terragen? Does that mean all these clip files i've downloaded over the years with self containing networks have all been tweaked with a text editor?

Tangled-Universe

No.

I just investigated a bit further on this and this is how to create an internal network inside TG2. So without text editors: