Author Topic: lines in my render  (Read 1332 times)

Offline skyview5

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
lines in my render
« on: August 04, 2012, 06:23:06 PM »
Sometimes when i render am image, i get these lines all through my atmosphere. I thought it was my computer, but i have 3 different computers, and it does it on all of them. It has a way of ruining a good render.  Any idea what this is caused from? I have attached an image with an example of my problem.

Offline TheElectroKangaroo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • My deviantART Terragen gallery
Re: lines in my render
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 08:32:22 PM »
It's something to do with the relevant contrasts of the pixels as they appear next to each other. My pic here: http://fav.me/d4o4ouk has the same effect.

Offline skyview5

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: lines in my render
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 09:24:13 PM »
It would be nice if there were a way to prevent it. Sometimes it's barely noticable, but I've had a few renders that it really stands out.

Online Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4779
Re: lines in my render
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2012, 02:49:14 PM »

A little late reply but this problem is not only a TG2 problem.

Look here please:

http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=14143.0

Not sure if this is your problem.

Output as EXR from TG2.
Then before you convert your image in a 8 bit format ( jpg etc.) add some noise in an image editor.

It could be jpg compression too and-or all of them together.

Hope this helps.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 02:50:46 PM by Kadri »

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 8831
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: lines in my render
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2012, 06:58:36 AM »
We'll have dithering built in to TG in a future version whenever the image is saved in an 8 bit format.

- Oshyan

Online Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4779
Re: lines in my render
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2012, 02:46:03 PM »

Nice to hear Oshyan  :)