Planetside Software Forums

General => Open Discussion => Topic started by: Oshyan on April 27, 2010, 04:49:03 AM

Title: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Oshyan on April 27, 2010, 04:49:03 AM
Hi guys, I thought it would be interesting to get an idea of what operating systems we're all using. We get basic Mac/Windows platform information for registered users, but we don't know what specific versions of the OS, and we also don't have info on free users. Not to mention those of you with multiple platforms. ;) So I've made it a multi-choice poll. Please check all operating systems that you use Terragen on (whether Terragen 2 or Terragen Classic).

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Henry Blewer on April 27, 2010, 12:06:26 PM
I have been seriously considering upgrading to Windows 7 64 bit on my old machine. Microsoft's computer analysis program says that my machine can handle it.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Kadri on April 27, 2010, 12:16:16 PM
I have been seriously considering upgrading to Windows 7 64 bit on my old machine. Microsoft's computer analysis program says that my machine can handle it.

It is up to you , but i wouldn't take the chance , Njeneb . Windows 7 is better then Vista but better then XP ?
I am not so sure. Especially with older hardware. If you have a spare HD try it on it first , without messing with your old system .
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Rhalph on April 27, 2010, 12:39:19 PM
It is up to you , but i wouldn't take the chance , Njeneb . Windows 7 is better then Vista but better then XP ?
Ooooh yes it is ! ;D
The only problem I had with is that my old webcam doesn't have any drivers for 64 bits OS (I use Win 7 64). But I had the same problem with Win XP 64.
I never tried Vista.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Kadri on April 27, 2010, 01:09:47 PM
It is up to you , but i wouldn't take the chance , Njeneb . Windows 7 is better then Vista but better then XP ?
Ooooh yes it is ! ;D
The only problem I had with is that my old webcam doesn't have any drivers for 64 bits OS (I use Win 7 64). But I had the same problem with Win XP 64.
I never tried Vista.

 :D   What is your hardware Rhalph ? So Njeneb can compare easier .
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: leafspring on April 27, 2010, 01:53:00 PM
@njeneb: What are your specs?

Generally, Windows 7 is way better than XP and Vista in every aspect and I've yet to encounter a machine that can't handle it.
I'm using this system since the first beta and I've never had any problem. It's fast, sleek and stable.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Kadri on April 27, 2010, 02:36:25 PM
@njeneb: What are your specs?

Generally, Windows 7 is way better than XP and Vista in every aspect and I've yet to encounter a machine that can't handle it.
I'm using this system since the first beta and I've never had any problem. It's fast, sleek and stable.

XP seems a little more responsive to me then Windows 7 here on our pc's . But this is maybe only me .
There are so many configurations out there it is sometimes hard to say , thus trying is the safest root in my opinion.
Of course i am not saying you are wrong  :)
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Henry Blewer on April 27, 2010, 02:51:07 PM
Pentium 4 HT @3gHz   4 G memory    ATI Radeon 4300 512 mb DDR2  Dell 2310 monitor.

I had the release candidate of Windows 7 running on a different partition. There were not too many drivers available then.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Rhalph on April 27, 2010, 02:55:02 PM
My webcam is a "Logitech webcam nx pro".

Guys, you must keep in mind that all Vista drivers work with Win 7. Which is why there is a very good compatibility...
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: leafspring on April 27, 2010, 03:24:22 PM
Pentium 4 HT @3gHz   4 G memory    ATI Radeon 4300 512 mb DDR2  Dell 2310 monitor.

I had the release candidate of Windows 7 running on a different partition. There were not too many drivers available then.
Well, it was only an RC. Most of the hardware vendors out there were in the middle of developing drivers and only a few were able to actually push usable beta drivers at that time. But like Rhalph said, a lot of the older Vista drivers worked quite well. By now there shouldn't be any problem regarding drivers. I'd say give it a try and most likely you will benefit greatly from W7.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: TheBlackHole on May 06, 2010, 03:14:45 AM
I only have 3 problems with Win7:
1. Anim8or doesn't work at all, doesn't even want to run
2. No 16-bit apps like Orbits, Nine Worlds, or Dance eJay 2
3. Windows Movie Maker isn't normally installed; Live Movie Maker looks like crap thanks to the timeline being removed; WMM 2.6 is the only downloadable version and it doesn't even support addon effects!
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: piggy on May 06, 2010, 04:22:48 AM
Win 7 is better than XP under one condition: When the CPU has 4 or more cores.

If what you have is a 2-core CPU, stick with XP.

If what you have is an older generation of 4-core CPU, stick with XP.

If your CPU is i7 or better, go for Win 7.

But before you go for Win 7, my advice would be check out newer releases of Linux distros such as Ubuntu.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: reck on May 06, 2010, 07:36:13 AM
It's interesting to see the amount of people using Windows 7 x64 over Windows 7 x32. Looks like a lot of people are the using this release to move over to x64 in large numbers, compared to Vista. After using it for the best part of a year now I can see why there is such a positive buzz about it.

Edit: Just noticed one poor sap is using Terragen 2 with Mac OS 9,  ::)

Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Zairyn Arsyn on May 06, 2010, 06:29:29 PM
It's interesting to see the amount of people using Windows 7 x64 over Windows 7 x32. Looks like a lot of people are the using this release to move over to x64 in large numbers, compared to Vista. After using it for the best part of a year now I can see why there is such a positive buzz about it.

Edit: Just noticed one poor sap is using Terragen 2 with Mac OS 9,  ::)


i think they mean terragen classic, TG2 does'nt support Mac OS 9
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: nikita on May 06, 2010, 10:21:40 PM
Oops. I voted for Vista 64 but I'm actually using Windows Seven 64.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: piggy on May 08, 2010, 10:52:40 AM
Edit: Just noticed one poor sap is using Terragen 2 with Mac OS 9,  ::)



Unfortunately they did not offer Win 98 as an option or I would vote on that as well.

One of my old computer, still working, has Win98SE and TG Classic.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Oshyan on May 08, 2010, 11:14:09 PM
I wasn't sure if Classic still worked on 98 or I would have added it. Probably works on 95 too. :P I'll add 98 just for fun...

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: piggy on May 09, 2010, 02:57:36 AM
I wasn't sure if Classic still worked on 98 or I would have added it. Probably works on 95 too. :P I'll add 98 just for fun...

- Oshyan


On 98SE (Second Edition) yes, it worked with TG Classic, with occassional crash (out of memory).
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: domdib on June 02, 2010, 08:46:17 AM
Deep on Vista 32 bit, Free on OS X.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Henry Blewer on June 02, 2010, 07:03:11 PM
Upgraded to Windows 7 64 bit.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: terranim on June 03, 2010, 12:43:45 PM
It's been quite a while!

I have been an Ubuntu user for some time (now running Lucid 64-bit) and although I have occasionally tested Terragen 2 in Wine I have always had issues with the GUI. Out of curiosity I have just tried loading a version I already had installed (probably not the latest) and suddenly it appears to be working happily! It seems the recent updates to Wine have fixed the GUI rendering issues - see the attached screenshot!

The only remaining problem is due to the fact that Terragen uses the alt key as a modifier to allow the mouse to move the camera in the render preview, but alt and mouse drag under Linux allows you to drag a window. Scratch that, I've just found the key binding stuff in the preferences window which means I can re-assign it to ctrl-shift, much better, nice work guys!

Hopefully this means I can start playing with Terragen again :)

Regards,
Dan
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Goms on October 31, 2010, 09:18:37 PM
harr... thats great news!
if i get it to run too, ill make some test-renders on win7 and ubuntu 10.10. :)

anyway, there should be a linux version too in future!
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: FrankB on October 31, 2010, 09:29:16 PM
hmm, I just don't get why one would abandon TG2 just because you liked Ubuntu. I mean, why not run a second box with window on it or get a mac?  It's just too interesting to not have it, that's what I think.

Frank
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Goms on October 31, 2010, 09:44:59 PM
Tg2 is the reason for me to keep my dual boot system. ;)
but look at it this way: i think its a bit annoying sometimes that i have to reboot to play with tg2.
also, if you have no Win running, why buy a whole OS, just for one program.
or even buy a mac?

which is, considering all possible solutions including waiting for a linux package, the worst imho :P
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Goms on October 31, 2010, 10:11:54 PM
copied the tg2 folder to my ubuntu partition, marked as executable and loaded with wine. :)
Works fine on maverick 64!
(http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/2859/screenshotcmy.png)


Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: jbest on November 01, 2010, 12:35:48 AM
I use a tiny laptop; its processer is 1.1 GHz, and 504 MB of RAM. It's also only a single-core computer (Windows XP). That's pretty slow, so I usually render my Terragen 2 pictures on a bigger, faster computer that's got 2.6 GHz, (Windows Vista), Dual-core, and 2 GB of RAM. And I just realized I voted 64-bit Vista but that compute ris 32 bit. Oops.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Zairyn Arsyn on November 01, 2010, 01:06:47 AM
I use a tiny laptop; its processer is 1.1 GHz, and 504 MB of RAM. It's also only a single-core computer (Windows XP). That's pretty slow, so I usually render my Terragen 2 pictures on a bigger, faster computer that's got 2.6 GHz, (Windows Vista), Dual-core, and 2 GB of RAM. And I just realized I voted 64-bit Vista but that compute ris 32 bit. Oops.

jbest, that's similar to what i first started using TG2 on, it was a older dell laptop with a single core 1GHz and 1 gig of ram, ( that was before i purchased deep with animation)
after the laptop, i got a new custom built system.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Zairyn Arsyn on May 09, 2011, 08:27:15 PM
64bit Terragen2 will only run on 64bit versions of windows (XP/vista/Win7)

32bit Terragen2 will run on both 64/32bit editions of windows
Windows 7-32 bits

is it windows 7-64 bits, all the programs are available for it?
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: efflux on July 19, 2011, 07:20:58 PM
What version of Wine are you people running where the icons issue is fixed? I'm not using Ubuntu anymore. I'm using Debian Wheezy (testing) 64 bit. I like Debian better now. It's simpler and easier to tweak than Ubuntu. Wheezy has wine 1.0.1-3.1. I just had a problem with the Nvidia drivers in the latest update and had to drop to using the open source driver. By chance I tried TG2 32 bit and it actually worked. It didn't with the Nvidia drivers. This will be due to open GL and 64/32 bit problems. I still have the icons problem and I can't open TG2 files without a crash for some reason. Is anyone using the 64 bit TG2? I can't install that because I'd need to copy over from 64 bit Windows. I am assuming installing 64 bit TG2 will not be possible and I need the dlls anyway. I guess I could install TG2 on someone elses 64 bit computer to copy over for a test. However Windows computers are disappearing around here. I am convincing everybody to use Ubuntu. It's snowballing massively because I installed Ubuntu on a reasonably fast Sony laptop and I added an SSD. After years of problems and slow speed they could not believe the new speed and reliability. Now everyone wants Ubuntu.

The lack of working on Linux is the prime reason I'm not using TG2 anymore.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: MKE on September 27, 2011, 10:56:32 AM
copied the tg2 folder to my ubuntu partition, marked as executable and loaded with wine. :)

Hej, that's great!!! I didn't know about the possibility to run Windows software with Wine on Linux. We have a fast Linux cluster using openSuse and now I can run my animation there with a higher "niceness" for not disturbing the people who do "real work" there. Great.

There are some problems with the TG2 preview window but the rendering works fine. So I can test everything on my own machine and then let the animation run on the fast cluster. Thanks to the forum for the information about wine! It's surely not as good as a real Linux Version of TG2 but it works.

Martin
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: MKE on September 29, 2011, 03:04:54 PM
It's surely not as good as a real Linux Version of TG2 but it works.

Hmmm... It works but it seems that the translation of wine slows down very much the whole rendering. So rendering on my half year old 6-core Windows-PC is faster that on the one year old 16-core high performance Linux processing cluster. Wine makes TG2 running there but it's far away from making a Linux-version of TG2 dispensable.

Kind regards,
Martin
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: reck on December 23, 2011, 10:05:23 AM
The lack of working on Linux is the prime reason I'm not using TG2 anymore.

It's a shame that your choice of OS is dictating what software you're using. If you want to use TG2 just duel boot into Windows.

I sometimes use Linux but there's just so much that won't run that it remains something I boot into now and again alongside Windows.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: AndyWelder on December 21, 2012, 08:59:44 PM
Isn't it time Win8 is added to the list of OS's? Who knows, someone might actually use Terragen with it....
Now seriously: I did run TG2 on the Dev Preview and have to admit it did run very smoothly. In my enthusiasm to test Win8 I forgot there was a render on its way and it wasn't till after I installed a couple of programs that I did remember the render... Didn't notice a significant slow down while running the installers. On Win7 I would never try to run anything next to TG2 because I did try once and the installer took forever to finish.
And about Win8: Well, that's not running on my machine anymore because I think it's fine for smartphones and tablet-pc's but not for the traditional desktop/notebook.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Kadri on December 21, 2012, 09:23:19 PM

I voted for Windows 7 64 bit then , but now i am using it on Windows 8 64 bit .

On W7 when i used 7 of 8 cores (quad core with hyperthreading) it was rougher when i rendered with TG2 .
I had to manually uncheck one core from rendering.
Now in Windows 8 it is so smooth i do not have to do anything.
Nothing scientific but Windows 8 runs smoother as it seems multy threaded programs to me.

Andy i do not use the Metro interface.
Beside that there is not a start option on the bar it is nearly the same as Windows 7 to me...and a little faster and smoother.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Thelby on July 29, 2013, 04:22:15 PM
I am little late to this, but I use;
Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit and Windows 7 Professional 64 bit.
The Vista is a Q6600. The Windows 7 Home is an i7 830 system and the Windows 7 Pro is an i7 2600 System.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: baranbaran on April 26, 2015, 06:18:19 AM
windows 8 is the best
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: bobbystahr on July 16, 2016, 11:09:41 PM
Just to update I'm using Windows 10 Pro and it's very nice.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: masonspappy on July 17, 2016, 07:13:42 AM
Just to update I'm using Windows 10 Pro and it's very nice.
Same here. Both systems.  1st time I upgraded to W10 I got quite a few TG3 crashes, but they've pretty much disappeared now. Don't know why. But then I never did understand computers. I just assume they're the devil's handmaid and let it go at that. 
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Kadri on July 30, 2016, 05:43:54 AM

Time for a new poll especially while after the free Windows 10 upgrade time is over?
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Oshyan on July 30, 2016, 09:18:04 PM

Time for a new poll especially while after the free Windows 10 upgrade time is over?

Yes, not a bad idea as we may be making some platform support changes for TG4...

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: ajcgi on August 01, 2016, 01:52:02 PM
Cool. I'm predicting support for Irix, Solaris and OS2. Right? :D
Though that does hint that you are dropping support for something old... say XP. Or Vista.
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Oshyan on August 01, 2016, 05:59:01 PM
Definitely Irix! Still close to my heart as a pioneer in the graphics industry. :) Matt, on the other hand, would almost certainly say AmigaOS.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: bobbystahr on August 01, 2016, 06:13:37 PM
Definitely Irix! Still close to my heart as a pioneer in the graphics industry. :) Matt, on the other hand, would almost certainly say AmigaOS.

- Oshyan

Hear hear...same roots for me...still have my pair of A2000's
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: ajcgi on August 03, 2016, 03:23:38 PM
You had a pair?
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: sjefen on August 16, 2017, 11:08:44 AM
Should we update this poll?
I'm wondering how many are using Windows 10 now??  :)

- Terje
Title: Re: What operating systems do you use Terragen on?
Post by: Oshyan on August 20, 2017, 06:28:23 PM
Yes, good reminder. We have planned to do an updated poll/survey soon...

- Oshyan