Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: digitalguru on November 13, 2017, 07:06:31 PM

Title: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on November 13, 2017, 07:06:31 PM
Render all to disk is the same  - output is 16bit regardless of EXR options

Saving from the Render View as 32bit does work however.

Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: Oshyan on November 14, 2017, 10:01:00 PM
Render All to Disk and Render Sequence appear to both be outputting 32bit EXRs here. What version of Terragen are you using and what software are you using to check the bit depth?

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on November 15, 2017, 09:18:03 PM
Hey Oshyan,

Using latest build 4.1.17, thought it might have been the prefs so found and deleted:

AppData\Roaming\uk.co.planetside
AppData\Roaming\Planetside Software

and uninstalled TG4 and my old TG3 to no avail

easy to check - render a sequence of a couple of frames from the startup scene then save over the last frame with the last frame in Render View - choosing 32 bit exr (which works for me) and the file size increases with 32bit data. Checking in Nuke confims it too.

setting a path to save to automatic_render_output and selecting 32bit works too, just not Render All to Disk and Render Sequence

had a look at the .tgd file in a text editor and found this string:

exr_pixel_type = "2"

which I'm guessing is the 32bit option for openexr?
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: Matt on November 15, 2017, 11:49:13 PM
I'm not sure how this bug slipped through, but you're right. "Render All to Disk" and "Render Sequence" are saving 16 bit regardless of the EXR options. I'm fixing this now.

Matt
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: Oshyan on November 16, 2017, 12:52:04 AM
And the lesson I learned is that Photoshop doesn't correctly report Terragen EXR bit depths. :D

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on November 16, 2017, 10:07:37 AM
Quote
And the lesson I learned is that Photoshop doesn't correctly report Terragen EXR bit depths.

Yes, that's happened to me before, I think Photoshop can only deal with 16bit integer so when it sees a float format it assumes 32bit.
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: D.A. Bentley on November 16, 2017, 05:45:42 PM
What version of Photoshop are you using?  I'm still on CS5, and my EXR bit-depths are correctly displaying.
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on November 16, 2017, 08:32:32 PM
CS6 for me, which reads 16bit as RGB/32
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: D.A. Bentley on November 16, 2017, 11:41:56 PM
OK, I think mine are working because I have been just doing single frame renders.  Great find!
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: Oshyan on November 17, 2017, 11:17:06 PM
I'm using Photoshop CC.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on March 25, 2018, 04:11:54 PM
Sorry, should have tested this orginally, but only just fired up a render outputting some Render Elements.

If rendering to OpenExr and selecting 32 bit, the Render Elements don't render at the selected bit depth - well most of them;

tgRgb, tgAlpha(!) and tgSurfDepth render at 32 bit and the rest at 16 bit - would have expected if you select a bit depth for the format then all Elements should render at that depth?

This happens in both Render All to Disk and Render Sequence.

Would be great if they all set to the same bit depth or even something like this?

[attachimg=1]
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: Oshyan on April 20, 2018, 02:25:36 AM
As noted in another thread, we've found the bug and fixed it. Thanks for being persistent. :D

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Render sequence won't output OpenExr at 32bit
Post by: digitalguru on April 20, 2018, 09:12:39 AM
Great, looking forward to experimenting with those elements at 32bit