Planetside Software Forums

General => Open Discussion => Topic started by: Oshyan on February 07, 2012, 11:25:07 PM

Title: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on February 07, 2012, 11:25:07 PM
I thought it would be interesting to get a general idea of what graphics cards people have. With the enormous numbers of different models out there I'm limiting this to just consideration of the "family" or "generation" of video card and the manufacturer of the GPU itself (usually ATI or Nvidia). Feel free to provide more detail in comments if you'd like.

Me, I've got an Nvidia Geforce 570, so I picked 500 series. :)

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: jaf on February 07, 2012, 11:48:26 PM
A GTX 460 (over-clocked.)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Kadri on February 08, 2012, 02:19:26 AM

Oshyan i voted for Ati HD 6000 series but we have 3 computers at home that have additionally an Ati 4000  and Ati 3000 series video card.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Henry Blewer on February 08, 2012, 12:30:11 PM
ATI Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 here. It is the best GPU card I have ever had.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on February 14, 2012, 07:39:49 PM
i have a Evga Geforce GTX 460, the 2gb version
i'm quite happy with it.

also, my PC at work has a Ati HD 6600.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Gooner on February 14, 2012, 09:31:47 PM
Mine is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670 in a three year old Dell XPS16.

Really need a better, newer one.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: freelancah on February 25, 2012, 02:50:11 PM
Nvidia 480 GTX and server has some Ati 4650 I think
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: rcallicotte on February 27, 2012, 12:55:03 PM
GTX580
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: ajcgi on February 29, 2012, 10:28:04 AM
This behemoth at work has a 512M quadro fx 3700
My somewhat ageing yet still functional machine at home has a 320M geforce 8800gts

As a point of note... I've had one gaming card go bang on me after I switched cooling heatsinks, so no real surprise!
However, here, within a year we've had several of these quadros go bang all on their own. I wouldn't recommend them for Terragen anyway, but if you do want a quadro for other purposes, video editing etc, don't get that one imo. Least not in a Dell, lol.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: lat 64 on March 31, 2012, 06:47:35 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT

Don't take this as a recommendation. It is slow and crashes TG2 on my Mac Pro 1,1 Dual core intel 2.66GHz.

Saving up for better.
Russ
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: AP on March 31, 2012, 08:13:56 PM
Nvidia Geforce FX 5200. I must be the most lame sucker here.    ::)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: otakar on April 10, 2012, 09:35:12 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 6 Series (6800 GT)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on April 18, 2012, 08:24:34 PM
a while back i got a EVGA 280 gtx from a friend, i'm gonna put it in my other PC, though i need a PSU with more juice before i install.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Chinaski on May 02, 2012, 01:22:00 PM
Nvidia Geforce FX 5200. I must be the most lame sucker here.    ::)
A Nvidia Geforce 2 MX, in a 11 years old computer (bi PIII 1 go). I win. :D
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on May 02, 2012, 02:27:32 PM
well your not completely alone.... :) ;D
Nvidia Geforce FX 5200. I must be the most lame sucker here.    ::)
A Nvidia Geforce 2 MX, in a 11 years old computer (bi PIII 1 go). I win. :D

my G4 iMac (Flat Panel) had a Geforce 2 MX with 32mb of vram
I stopped using it for my work back in spring 2008
though i still use it sometimes... just for retrieving some files and playing old console games with emulators.
 
i could Never run TG2 with it, only TG classic.

Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: PabloMack on June 16, 2012, 02:55:27 PM
EVGA nVidia GeForce 9800GT 1 GB 2DVI/HDCP PCI-Express Video Card 01G-P3-N981-TR

Its about the most powerful video card you can buy that requires only one slot.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Kevin F on February 08, 2013, 12:25:00 PM
How do these polls cater for upgrades that are acquired over time?
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on February 08, 2013, 04:58:07 PM
They don't explicitly account for upgrades, and a poll of this type is naturally going to be a bit time-specific anyway as hardware goes out of date and, as you say, gets upgraded. Perhaps we'll retire this poll at some point and revive it at a later date.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on February 09, 2013, 10:35:57 PM
i think i might have just voted twice... i know i voted before in this pole before, but now it seems its been reset or something

i still have 460 gtx, but a friend sold me a 570 with a water block kit.

Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: TheBadger on February 21, 2013, 01:00:31 AM
Just installed an upgrade tonight. Mudbox should be a lot more fun now. Not to mention cs6
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Danny on March 07, 2013, 03:53:49 PM
Looking to upgrade my graphics card, I am currently running Nvidia Geforce 560 2GB, not a huge gamer, but do pay once in a while so mostly dedicated for Terragen. I don't want to spend 600-800 us on a card if it just to much. I guess my question is whats the best card for rendering terragen stills and animation ?

i7 2700K Sandy Bridge OC 4.3
X4 Rip Jaw 4 gig Ram
H100 Corsair
 
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: otakar on March 07, 2013, 05:08:03 PM
Ever since I built the 2600k based machine, I have used the onboard graphics card (HD3000) and have no complaints, though I have no time for gaming. I can't do a side-by-side comparison with a dedicated card, but I've sifted through the reviews and I would not expect major improvements for what I do with it.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Walli on March 07, 2013, 08:34:17 PM
I think to render Terragen stills and animations, you donīt need a card at all. TG uses the card only for display on the screen, but the actual rendering is CPU number crunching. Same is true for most other applications too.
Only a few recent engines make use of GPU, like Octane or Blender Cycles, but this still has some drawbacks. For some stuff itīs great though.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Danny on March 07, 2013, 10:25:51 PM
I think to render Terragen stills and animations, you donīt need a card at all. TG uses the card only for display on the screen, but the actual rendering is CPU number crunching. Same is true for most other applications too.
Only a few recent engines make use of GPU, like Octane or Blender Cycles, but this still has some drawbacks. For some stuff itīs great though.

Thats kind of what I am looking for is information like that Walli, how much is too much, maybe my card is good enough for all intended purposes. I'm not a techie by any means, I have some extra $ so figure I would ask, Thks ^^
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: jaf on September 15, 2013, 06:32:37 PM
Is there a way to update this thread -- maybe add a new poll?  I suspect there's been quite a lot of change since it was started and we can change or update or data.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on September 15, 2013, 09:43:21 PM
I'd like to do a more broad hardware survey at some point in the future. Might just wait for that.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: archonforest on September 15, 2013, 10:37:41 PM
I think to survey the VGA card is useless since TG is not depend on it. We should probably do a CPU and RAM survey. Probably we should have a test file to render that everybody can download and post the render time with specifics of what cpu and what kind and how much ram did that. This data can help others to see what hardware upgrade they need to do in order to speed up TG on their PC/MAC. ;)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on September 15, 2013, 10:41:28 PM
The point of this survey was not to figure out how people's computers performed at rendering. People very seldom crash due to CPU or RAM issues, but graphics card issues are much more prevalent (even though Terragen's use of OpenGL is pretty simple). So we wanted to get a better idea of what kind of graphics cards were in use for stability reasons, not performance.

There have been benchmarks done in the past, I was involved in/responsible for several of them. I intend to do a new one soon, and now that TG3 is out it's a good time. I will try to get back to that... But it does serve a different purpose than this poll did/does.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: archonforest on September 15, 2013, 10:49:06 PM
I see...
actually you are right on this. It is an important data for the developers :)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: ratfugel on September 30, 2013, 09:51:05 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7900
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: mr-miley on September 30, 2013, 01:25:49 PM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000D here  :)

Oooo, and I'm the first one on Page 3... whoop whoop!!! (doesn't take much to please me ;D )
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Artistico on June 20, 2014, 10:40:46 PM
I didn't think the Graphics card made much of a difference to Terragen, or does it? Anyway, mine is a Nvidia GeForce GTX560M, which was one of the best ones I could get for my workhorse laptop 2 1/2 years ago. It's still my main computer, though I will upgrade to a desktop with a big, big screen one of the next few years.

Screen size is really my main issue with just using a laptop. 15.6 inches isn't much when you're working with photos, artwork and design. Processing speed might be an issue if I work a bit more with Terragen where one can never have enough of it...
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on June 21, 2014, 02:26:03 AM
Last fall I upgraded my PC to a EVGA Geforce 770 GTX 4GB Classified GPU (from a Geforce 460).

No, TG doesnt use the GPU for rendering, or even the 3D preview, tho' I think I once heard it can improve performance in the node network window, if say if you have tons and tons of nodes, but that several years ago, so I could be wrong about that.

Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on June 21, 2014, 11:38:22 PM
TG does actually use your graphics card for the 3D Preview, which is the main reason we asked about which card people use in this thread. Some people occasionally have stability issues and it often seems related to the graphics card, so for support reasons we wanted an understanding of the most common graphics cards/chipsets in our userbase.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: kalwalt on June 22, 2014, 09:49:54 AM
i have a Nvidia GT540M on windows7 i have no problems, but on linx i need to use the bumblebee project because nvidia use the optiums technology. At this time i can't use with Terragen, normally if i want to run an app with my Nvidia card i need to run in a console with the command optirun. But if i run with:
Code: [Select]
optirun wine tgd.exei get an error and Tg do not start. I'm using TG, under Linux , with my intel integrated card, it is slower that in windows, and sometimes with complex scene it crash.... i need to investigate on this, maybe asking support on the bumblebee project or on the wine forums.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Zlain three nine on July 31, 2014, 02:15:19 AM
How much of the GPU does TG use?

I don't know much about programming, but it would be cool if in some future, distant version of TG it had an performance option with the 3D preview to take more advantage out of higher end GPU's with CUDA or OpenCL or whatever.

just an idea.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Oshyan on July 31, 2014, 02:19:04 AM
TG uses OpenGL on the graphics card for displaying 3D objects in the preview, as well as for some other UI drawing functions. Faster graphics cards do give you better performance with larger amounts of on-screen object geometry, but they do not other parts of the 3D preview (e.g. terrain or atmosphere rendering), or general rendering, faster. We're certainly interested in options like CUDA, etc. when they are practical and can handle everything that TG needs to render.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: MichaelTomp on September 23, 2014, 09:04:53 AM
I use Nvidia Geforce FX 5200. Arrived to the point where I have to get a better one.


_____________________________
http://www.qulix.com/ (http://www.qulix.com/)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 22, 2017, 09:47:25 AM
I noticed some blackouts lately, first in TG4, but today also in Lightwave. Error code 3 in OpenGL driver, it said once. Some other times the screen didn't come back at all, and reboot was the only option. Makes be nervous working on large files.

I have a GeForce GT610 with an old driver 9.18.13.1422. I wonder if it would be good to either update that driver, so I just downloaded 312MB's of new driver (version 378.66), or buy a better card. Especially regarding the RTP.
What's your opinion guys/ladies?
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 22, 2017, 03:14:23 PM
For the time being I have set the power management mode to 'max performance' instead of adaptive, one of the replies I found.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Tangled-Universe on February 22, 2017, 04:38:54 PM
Hi Ulco,

The power management mode makes no difference for me. It seemed it was switched on anyway last couple of months, while I experience the same crashes.

Don't bother a new GPU for the RTP. That's CPU based.
Good OpenGL performance for drawing of the population previews might be nice, but I'm not sure if TG really facilitates the benefits of a better OpenGL card.

Perhaps Oshyan knows more about it since he recently has a fancy Quaddro 5000 (I believe).

Cheers,
Martin
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: cyphyr on February 22, 2017, 08:20:52 PM
It's certainly worth keeping your drivers up to date.
Out of date drivers can come into conflict with windows components that have since themselves been updated.
I agree with Martin, you won't see much (if any) improvement in Terragen from a brand new shiney card but you most definately will in Lightwave.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 23, 2017, 06:17:41 AM
Thanks guys. No new GPU then, for now. We'll see what happens next, just  CTRL+S a lot of times, I guess.
As for mismatch driver and updated windows; I work on an offline Win 7 machine, which won't be updated at all, so it should all be like it was years ago. Just TG is updated  ;)
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 23, 2017, 07:04:21 AM
I'll continue the alpha thread here, so maybe someone else has an idea of what's happening here.
The event log shows some errors, like these:

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="NVIDIA OpenGL Driver" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="49152">1</EventID>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>0</Task>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-02-22T09:48:12.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>5743440</EventRecordID>
  <Channel>Application</Channel>
  <Computer>Ulco-PC</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Data>The NVIDIA OpenGL driver detected a problem with the display driver and is unable to continue. The application must close. Error code: 3 Visit http://www.nvidia.com/page/support.html for more information.</Data>
  </EventData>

3x same

------------------

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WMI" Guid="{1edeee53-0afe-4609-b846-d8c0b2075b1f}" EventSourceName="WinMgmt" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="49152">10</EventID>
  <Version>0</Version>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>0</Task>
  <Opcode>0</Opcode>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-02-22T08:21:46.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>5743425</EventRecordID>
  <Correlation />
  <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
  <Channel>Application</Channel>
  <Computer>Ulco-PC</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Data>//./root/CIMV2</Data>
  <Data>SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99</Data>
  <Data>0x80041003</Data>
  </EventData>
  </Event>

------------------

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-PerfNet" Guid="{CAB2B8A5-49B9-4EEC-B1B0-FAC21DA05A3B}" EventSourceName="PerfNet" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="49152">2004</EventID>
  <Version>0</Version>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>0</Task>
  <Opcode>0</Opcode>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-02-23T07:36:59.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>5743493</EventRecordID>
  <Correlation />
  <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
  <Channel>Application</Channel>
  <Computer>Ulco-PC</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Binary>340000C0</Binary>
  </EventData>
  </Event>

And literally hundreds of warnings, all at the same time, strangely. It seems like a memory issue of my GPU, doesn't it?
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Rumburak on February 23, 2017, 08:51:20 AM
I also had some strange errors with OpenGL and Terragen a while ago (http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,20766.0.html). It has been even stranger that these errors disappeared after installing the latest drivers for my logitech devices. Maybe updating some further drivers could help in your case too.

Concerning GPU: At that time I used an overclocked GeForce GTX780Ti - and this board is not really known for perfect stability, so I still don't know exactly what originally caused the error.
Today I use two GTX980 (rendering in blender is pretty nice with these) and there are no problems so far.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: KlausK on February 23, 2017, 08:58:56 PM
Hi Ulco

As you no doubt noticed when hunting for answers there are a lot of possible causes to this.
The fastest solution would be to replace your video card with another nvidia card.
Don`t you have another old one lying around, maybe? ??? Or someone you could ask?
No need to change drivers or anything. You could even by a second hand nvidia for a few euros.

If you can`t do that get DDU from guru3d.com. It de-installs your nvidia driver completely.
Then install the new driver and try and test and wait for the next BSD.

Download GPU-Z and install it. A little program that is able to show a lot of data about your GPU.
It also has a few OpenGL tests on board you can run. It shows data about voltage, vram, temperature etc.
Let it run when running a TG session and look at what it spits out. Might help...

A good stress test for the GPU is FurMark. But beware, stress tests can be harmful to already erratic hardware.
At least if it kills the old card - the decision is made easy ;)

If that is not an option I would check your RAM.
A lot of errors come from misbehaving RAM, even GPU related errors.

I guess TG is developed on a up-to-date platform, perhaps 4.04 still needs any windows update
you did not install since your computer is offline. But that can be verified simply by checking when
the errors started to show and whatever you installed inbetween, I think.

I would also try to find out in which working situations the BSD happen.
Using the new Preview Renderer, or object heavy scenes or similar.
Perhaps you are even able to create a dedicated crasher-scene in the end.

Hope that helps and good luck!
cheers, Klaus

Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 24, 2017, 06:16:01 AM
Thanks very much, Klaus. Very helpful. I think I have GPU-Z somewhere, so I'll try that for starters. I think I will wait and see what happens for the next few weeks before changing or over-stressing things, but I will keep your ideas at hand!
If there is a GPU that will perform under every circumstance and never fails, I'd go for that.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 28, 2017, 11:49:11 AM
Blackouts again, and it's driving me crazy. Even typing in a number and hitting enter in Speedtree (only software open) caused a total system crash. I ran GPU-Z, 15% and small test, no errors, logged the sensors, and read them after a crash, nothing weird to be seen, all numbers staying the same up to the crash.
The error has to do with "OpenGl driver lost connection with display driver due to exceeding Windows time-out limit, error code 7". So I read all what others did about it, and it seems to happen more often. Maybe the GPU is getting old?

Also dusted out the whole machine (clouds of dust), and installed latest Forceware driver (378.66 replacing 314.22).... we'll see what happens.  If it's recurrent I might just buy a better/new GPU  >:(
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: archonforest on February 28, 2017, 01:20:16 PM
I would try this first:
https://support.pix4d.com/hc/en-us/articles/203926375-Error-The-NVIDIA-OpenGL-driver-lost-connection-with-the-display-driver-due-to-exceeding-the-Windows-Time-Out-limit-and-is-unable-to-continue-#gsc.tab=0

Then to change the time out linit this:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-performance/increase-time-out-limit/e979e2ad-e15f-450b-9818-a148cbf01078

BTW next time you get a vga card buy something better than a 610. This is a very very basic card and slow. I know TG is not using that much the card but other applications yes and a weak card like this can be overloaded easily.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on February 28, 2017, 03:06:56 PM
Thanks man. I think the first is specifically for that software so 'Remove the use of the GPU for processing in the processing options' would have to be set universely or so. The second I read somewhere is not really a solution but a 'workaround'. But if all else fails I can try that.
As for a better GPU, I agree. Besides Speedtree and Lightwave, TG's RTP will probably run better on a better card as well. Now to figure out what's best... any ideas?
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: archonforest on February 28, 2017, 03:36:41 PM
Thanks man. I think the first is specifically for that software so 'Remove the use of the GPU for processing in the processing options' would have to be set universely or so. The second I read somewhere is not really a solution but a 'workaround'. But if all else fails I can try that.
As for a better GPU, I agree. Besides Speedtree and Lightwave, TG's RTP will probably run better on a better card as well. Now to figure out what's best... any ideas?
There are millions of cards out there. What is your budget? What slot you have on the motherboard for vga card?
A cheap card here: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 with 2Gb of ram. This is a low end budget gaming card. Around 60euros?
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on March 01, 2017, 06:34:10 AM
Would that be any better than my GT610 2048MB? Budget is not really a problem, comfort in working is paramount.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: archonforest on March 01, 2017, 06:45:29 AM
Would that be any better than my GT610 2048MB? Budget is not really a problem, comfort in working is paramount.
It is not so much better but got it. Will look another one. 8)

This one is way better than your current one:
Evga Geforce Gtx 1050 SSC 2Gb Gddr5. Price is around 150Euros
Gigabyte RX 460 WF2 OC-4Gb 4 GB GDDR5 Memory PCI-E Graphics Card. Price is around 100Euros.

Around 100-150Euros pretty much every card will do for you as those ones are already low end gaming cards. But since they are new you might need to update your Win7 also.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on March 01, 2017, 09:26:01 AM
Thanks very much. And good that you mention updating win 7. I have to check whether that's possible with no internet connection; download some update and transfer or something.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Ethrieltd on April 06, 2017, 07:47:53 PM
Thanks very much. And good that you mention updating win 7. I have to check whether that's possible with no internet connection; download some update and transfer or something.

http://download.wsusoffline.net

Funnily enough I had this problem recently (just after a ram upgrade) and it only started happening after I updated my NVIDIA drivers. From what my research (cough) led me to believe it's a recurring bug. I reseated the card reinstalled the drivers and it seems ok. After several crashes an hour (seemingly instigated by Firefox) it's not done it at all in over 2 weeks.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on April 07, 2017, 06:47:14 AM
Thanks for your input. My blackouts are gone after I dusted my case (!), and updated my GPU driver, whichever caused it. I can hardly believe though that the update fixed it, as nothing ever changes to my work machine environment, no other updates, offline all the time. If all stays the same how can crashes start, is what I mean.
Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Upon Infinity on April 20, 2017, 08:00:29 PM
Thanks for your input. My blackouts are gone after I dusted my case (!), and updated my GPU driver, whichever caused it. I can hardly believe though that the update fixed it, as nothing ever changes to my work machine environment, no other updates, offline all the time. If all stays the same how can crashes start, is what I mean.

Does it stay the same, though?  There may be viruses lurking around in the machine that aren't caught because the anti virus doesn't update.  Not to mention the typical errors and memory holes that can accumulate on a machine as time goes on.

Title: Re: What video card do you use?
Post by: Dune on April 21, 2017, 06:15:37 AM
In principle I can't get a virus on that machine, as it's totally off the internet (always been that way, so no antivirus, or firewall at all, ever) and I don't just install anything hazy or stick sticks in it. But yes, errors of memory stuff may increase in due time. But it's working like a dream again, I think it was the dust after all, causing tiny hotwiring issues perhaps.
Thanks for thinking along, Chad.