Author Topic: How to Create a Gas Giant  (Read 11643 times)

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
How to Create a Gas Giant
« on: August 29, 2009, 04:31:08 PM »
1. Leave the terrain flat.
2. Go underground.
3. Set the Sky Size to 16384 (4x the norm)
4. Click Render. Enjoy.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2009, 04:31:39 PM »
Note from author:
This is for Terragen 0.9.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

CCC

  • Guest
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2009, 07:37:05 PM »
It can't be that simple.    ;D

Offline matrix2003

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 831
  • Bill Reid Photog & Terragen hack!
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 12:39:59 PM »
Agreed.  I believe this guy is a troll.
***************************
-MATRIX2003-      ·DHV·  ....·´¯`*
***************************

CCC

  • Guest
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 07:33:56 AM »
Yup!

Offline Seth

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3620
  • Insane Frenchie
    • Setherragen
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2009, 07:06:34 PM »
Note from author:
This is for Terragen 0.9.

too bad to post it in the TG2 Documentation

Offline PG

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1203
  • Does the CG Monster Mash
    • PG Creation Studios
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2009, 07:54:46 PM »
It doesn't actually work in TG 0.9 either.
Figured out how to do clicky signatures

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2009, 07:47:00 PM »
Actually it does. Simply move the camera 20 meters underground. Or, deselect "land" so only the sky is rendered. For more realism, use some 3D clouds and change the atmosphere colors.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

Offline stuck

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2009, 02:24:39 PM »
An example .tgw file would be helpful because I'm with the majority here, it's not that simple and it doesn't work as described in the original post.

however with a bit of tinkering you can do interesting stuff in TG 0.9x by 'going underground'.  Here's one I made earlier:
http://www.terragen.org/gallery/displayimage.php?album=465&pos=11

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: How to Create a Gas Giant
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2009, 06:59:39 PM »
Make sure Backface Culling is enabled and add clouds. Make sure the Sky Size is 16384 or larger.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?