Author Topic: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...  (Read 2646 times)

Offline njen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 322
  • www.cyan-eyed.com
    • Kickstart Cyan Eyed!
Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« on: January 08, 2007, 03:07:45 PM »
If I place my camera at 0,0,0, I can not move it by the viewport controls (alt + MMB/RMB), though I can rotate it (LMB).

I assume this has something to do with the fact of how much the camera can move in relation to the vheight? With a low vheight, then camera moves small distances, while the opposite is also true with high vheight values.

Back to terraforming :)
Please support my Kickstarter for my animated film, Cyan Eyed (using Terragen)!

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11683
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2007, 04:12:00 AM »
Confirmed. This would seem to be an artifact of the movement curve relative to terrain proximity, as you theorized.

- Oshyan

Offline DeathTwister

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 247
    • the atomizer
Re: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2007, 01:22:23 PM »
Hay Java,

I have also noticed that where I put my camera, is not always where it is after I save, go out,  and come back in the next day.  It is almost as though, even though I save my camera set in a spot, that it resets itself back to automatic default?   Or is this just me? maybe need to update DirX again?

Side note: where will updates be posted in this forums? I hadn't seen a place yet is why I asked.  Thanks s/miles...

DeathTwister
Maylock Aromy DeathTwister Stansbury
ATOMIX Productions

Offline jo

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 1729
Re: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2007, 10:04:49 PM »
Hi,

I have also noticed that where I put my camera, is not always where it is after I save, go out,  and come back in the next day.  It is almost as though, even though I save my camera set in a spot, that it resets itself back to automatic default?

I don't have a comment about that.

Quote
Or is this just me? maybe need to update DirX again?

TG2 doesn't use DirectX. In any case, this is the sort of problem that could only be fixed with an update to the application. I wish there was an easy way to describe how this stuff works. I see people going to such trouble to try and fix issues by doing stuff like reinstalling the application multiple times, even reinstalling Windows, messing about with the registry, and it all isn't going to make a bit of difference. The only external thing that TG2 on Windows can really benefit from is making sure the drivers for your graphics card are up to date. Most of the problems with TG2 has right now are just problems in TG2, only updates to TG2 can fix it and doing those things I mentioned before won't change that.

Regards,

Jo

Offline Adam Chrystie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2007, 11:54:55 PM »
Be sure your camera doesn't have a keyframe alredy set..if it does it will revert to the keyframed position even after you do "set camera"...i had this happen to me..so after setting the camera, I also had to key frame its positional and rotational data..that made it stay in place....I'm still searching for a way to erase keyframes in terragen.

hope this helps ya


Hay Java,

I have also noticed that where I put my camera, is not always where it is after I save, go out,  and come back in the next day.  It is almost as though, even though I save my camera set in a spot, that it resets itself back to automatic default?   Or is this just me? maybe need to update DirX again?

Side note: where will updates be posted in this forums? I hadn't seen a place yet is why I asked.  Thanks s/miles...

DeathTwister
--------------------
Adam Chrystie
3D Artist & Infrastructure/Pipeline Developer

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11683
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Bug, or at lesat an unintended result - camera movement...
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2007, 06:45:36 AM »
If you're losing your expected camera position, be sure you're clicking Set Camera before saving/closing.

Updates will be posted in the Announcement section of this forum. It's recommended that you turn on notifications for this area.

You can't currently delete a single keyframe unfortunately, only the whole animation. You can edit the .tgd file manually to remove the keyframed values however, which will have the same effect but is obviously much more cumbersome. Animation is pretty basic at the moment and we'll be greatly improving it in the future.\

- Oshyan

 

anything