Author Topic: [PROBLEM SOLVED] Atmosphere problems (bug, maybe?)  (Read 4803 times)

Offline Gothic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
[PROBLEM SOLVED] Atmosphere problems (bug, maybe?)
« on: December 30, 2006, 09:22:35 AM »
So, basically, I was setting up a scene to render and I was messing around with the settings to see what they did, and suddenly, my atmosphere disappeared. In the 3D preview, everything is black where the sky is supposed to be. When I start the rendering, everything is fine (i.e. the little dots that appear at first are there and they're blue in colour where the sky is supposed to be) but at the end of the render, the sky goes black. I'm not sure what I did wrong, so could someone help me?

Edit: In addition, when I zoom out to view the whole planet, it becoms an empty ring.

P.S. First post here!
« Last Edit: December 31, 2006, 11:30:42 AM by Gothic »

Offline swiftstream

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Atmosphere problems
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2006, 10:18:22 AM »
Can you upload something to show what you mean--a render, a screenshot of the preview, or the tgd file? It's hard to determine what might be the problem just based on your description.

Offline 3DGuy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 340
    • The Glass Eye Photography
Re: Atmosphere problems
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2006, 11:14:50 PM »
Did you untick the enable option in the atmosphere shader by accident?

Offline calyxa

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Atmosphere problems
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2006, 11:27:17 PM »
I've had renders where my atmosphere / sky came out black for no apparent reason, but it's nothing I can reproduce.  it seems very similar to how renders sometimes come out red or magenta or otherwise wrongly weird (or is that weirdly wrong?).  a simple jiggle of the camera and re-render has fixed it.

it's only happened once or twice for me - I get the red/magenta thing much more often.

Offline njen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 322
  • www.cyan-eyed.com
    • Kickstart Cyan Eyed!
Re: Atmosphere problems
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2006, 03:07:51 AM »
Chiming in a little late here, but did you have the Cameras button along the top selected? For some reason, the atmosphere disappears when it is selected. But if you press the Lighting and Renderers buttons (on either side of the Cameras button) the atmosphere returns to the 3D preview window.
Please support my Kickstarter for my animated film, Cyan Eyed (using Terragen)!

Offline Gothic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Atmosphere problems
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2006, 03:12:10 AM »
I viewed the 3D preview through all tabs and let it finish rendering, but still no dice. Also, the sky appears black in the 3D preview and the final render.

I'm rendering the image now to show you what I mean by those blue dots and the black sky.

Offline Gothic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Atmosphere problems (bug, maybe?)
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2006, 06:03:17 AM »
Ok, done. I've attached the images that show what I mean.

As you can see, the sky looks like it's rendering fine in the GI pass, but in the final render, it turns a beautiful shade of inky black.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Atmosphere problems (bug, maybe?)
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2006, 07:59:16 AM »
Did you turn on "Do reverse primary rays" in the Render Settings under More Settings? If so turn it off. :D

- Oshyan

Offline Gothic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Atmosphere problems (bug, maybe?)
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2006, 08:41:57 AM »
Holy sh--... I feel like a retard!

Thanks anyway! It works fine now! What was the problem anyway?

 

anything