Author Topic: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?  (Read 732 times)

Offline TheSpiritOfWA

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« on: May 28, 2017, 09:24:16 AM »
Is there a way to export Terragen 4 to Maya? Thanks.  ;D

Offline Hetzen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1539
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2017, 01:18:01 PM »
Yes. :)

Offline Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3580
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2017, 01:32:55 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D!!!!!

Actually this is not really a very specific question.

Offline Hetzen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1539
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2017, 01:38:09 PM »
 ;D

I was going to jump back in. You're right the question is too vague. It very much depends on what your scene is.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2017, 10:03:38 PM »
What do you want to export? Terrain? As a heightfield or geometry? Environment or skybox/spherical panorama for HDRI/IBL? Camera and lighting? There are numerous possibilities, but also some limitations. If your intention is to model something in Terragen then export it to Maya and hope to get similar - or even better - render quality vs. rendering it natively in Terragen, that is probably not the best approach. If you want to export assets for use as hold-outs, shadow-catchers, occlusion, etc. that can work better.

- Oshyan

Offline KlausK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 303
  • Land ho!
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2017, 10:06:18 PM »
hm, looks like the SpiritOfWA left. Cruising the Potomac River again... ::)
/ ASUS WS Mainboard / Dual XEON E5-2640v3 / 64GB RAM / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 / Win7 Ultimate

Offline Lollorenjh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2017, 08:13:25 PM »
Hi, i'm a cg student, sorry for my bad english.. i'd like to know if it's possible to export geometry from terragen to maya (terrain geometry) .
And even texture and hdr.. many thanks


Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2017, 10:27:48 PM »
You can export terrain geometry with the Microexporter, detailed in the documentation here: http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Micro_Exporter
I recommend using only a single render thread, which reduces geometry overlap. But you'll still need to do some geometry cleanup in another application.

There is no built-in texture export. You can render a top-down orthographic image as a workaround.

For HDR/IBL/environment map, just make a spherical render (requires the Professional version) and save as EXR. You have the option of 16 or 32 bit per channel high dynamic range data.

- Oshyan

Offline Lollorenjh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to export Terragen 4 to Maya?
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2017, 05:29:56 PM »
Many many thanks for your prompt reply!!!