Author Topic: Atmosphere not following planet  (Read 523 times)

Online Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3558
Atmosphere not following planet
« on: April 25, 2017, 12:18:43 PM »
I want to animate my ISS scene, and since objects don't render correctly, when they are very far away from the origin, I decided to move the planet far away instead of the ISS.
So far so good. When I'm trying to animate the object floating above the earth I either have to animate the station, moving it fastly very far away again, or just move the planet instead. Moving the object produces weird results again. The preview shows the object correctly, but in the render it's at a different place.
So why not moving the planet? I animated the X value of the planet's centre from -6e+006 to -4e+006. Works for the planet, but unfortunately the atmosphere stays in place.
I tried a lot of things and found a strange behaviour. I attached an example scene to show you what I mean:
Load the scene and activate visible atmosphere in the 3D preview. You'll see the atmosphere correctly located around the planet. Hit "jump to last frame" in the animation time line, and you'll see, that the planet has moved, but the atmosphere stays in place. Now you can either uncheck "Render Surface", "Render atmosphere", "Translate textures with planet" or "Rotate textures with planet", no matter, which one, and voilą, the atmosphere is where the planet is. But if you jump back to the first frame, the atmosphere doesn't follow back, unless you hit one of the mentioned buttons again.
So, is this some sort of bug, or did I miss something?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2017, 12:22:46 PM by Hannes »

Online Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12599
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 01:09:59 PM »
This was the case a while ago, but I thought it had been tackled...
What if you use two identical planets, one with only atmo, and one with only surface, and move both the same? Will atmo move with it then?
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl

Online Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3558
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 01:22:03 PM »
What if you use two identical planets, one with only atmo, and one with only surface, and move both the same? Will atmo move with it then?

Nope. Same here.
Doing some tests with moving the station and the camera again. It seemed that the dislocation of the station only happened in the first and last frame.
Thanks anyway!!

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7935
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 01:39:42 PM »
educational thread, following....
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Online Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3558
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2017, 01:53:00 PM »
Moving the station and the cameras in sync does work, but GI caching doesn't, since these things are moving so fast and so far, that the GI can't be correctly interpolated. Without caching there's one hell of flickering.
So, it seems there's no chance to do a flight of the station above the earth without faking something. I could use a rendered background instead of the planet...

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7935
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2017, 01:55:32 PM »
could you render in separate layers and composite it after the fact?
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Online Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12599
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2017, 02:04:12 PM »
Fake the atmo (distance anyway), so no GIcache needed, I'd say.
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl

Online Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3558
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2017, 02:07:41 PM »
I guess, I'll fake the whole background. I'll render out a high res image of my earth and use it as backdrop.

Online Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12599
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2017, 02:10:45 PM »
Fake all!
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl

Offline KlausK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 282
  • Land ho!
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2017, 02:13:20 PM »
Hi, just lurking around the corner and saw this...

Did anyone notice that this seems to be related to the OpenGL versus RTPreview?

When I use the RTP to look at the scene, the Atmo follows the Planet even when I klick the "Play" button.
Does not work in normal OpenGL preview, like you described.

Maybe that helps for further investigation on staff side...

cheers, Klaus
/ ASUS WS Mainboard / Dual XEON E5-2640v3 / 64GB RAM / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 / Win7 Ultimate

Online Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3558
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2017, 02:25:34 PM »
Hi, just lurking around the corner and saw this...

Did anyone notice that this seems to be related to the OpenGL versus RTPreview?

When I use the RTP to look at the scene, the Atmo follows the Planet even when I klick the "Play" button.
Does not work in normal OpenGL preview, like you described.

Maybe that helps for further investigation on staff side...

cheers, Klaus

Quite interesting!

Fake all!

Yeah!!!! I'll render a plane in TG with a real ISS photo mapped onto it!!!!!! Cool! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Online Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12599
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Atmosphere not following planet
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2017, 04:26:31 PM »
 ;D But DO Animate!
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl