Author Topic: Sunlight going through mountain?  (Read 543 times)

Offline dpcole72

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Sunlight going through mountain?
« on: March 11, 2017, 11:14:48 PM »
Hello.  I was playing with a purchased tgd (for roads), and I'm starting to add features like birds, lake, trees, maybe a car if I can find the right lwo to import, but first wanted to add a nice colorful sunrise.   In positioning height, I encountered something I never had before - the sun is glowing through the mountain.  "View disc" is not checked, so I'm baffled as to why. I'm still working on other details but this fuzzy sun dot is annoying and I've spent hours in futility.  Is there a common setting I'm overlooking?

Thanks!
72287-0

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11679
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 11:18:30 PM »
To fix this you need to enable Receive Shadows in the Atmosphere's Quality tab. This setting allows the atmosphere to receive shadows from terrain (the atmosphere can already receive shadows from clouds). This will increase render time, which is why it's disabled by default, as in many situations it is not needed. But it will fix your problem here.

- Oshyan

Offline dpcole72

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2017, 12:10:27 AM »
I saw the checkbox, for the main atmosphere and for the cloud objects as well.  Does it need to be checked for all of them? (I tried just the main atmosphere and the glowing circle still appeared so I checked any cloud object whose height is close enough to where the glow is in hopes it won't be rendered anymore...)

Thanks!

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11679
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2017, 12:21:01 AM »
If you have very low cloud layers that are in front of the sun it may be necessary. It does appear as though you may have 1 or more low cloud layers which may need it enabled in this case. But generally it should only be needed for the atmosphere.

- Oshyan

Offline dpcole72

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2017, 01:52:36 AM »

Yeah, for the mist layer and possibly the lower cumulus cloud layer I enabled it and the disc is definitely gone.  Now it's just a matter of adding the details then rendering at the higher settings and wait a week for the 4k image to render, hehe.  I should try overclocking my 6-core Haswell CPU...  If I fry it, there's always Ryzen.

Thanks much!

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12604
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2017, 06:39:39 AM »
Did you ever render your final out? Care to post it? From the WIP it started to look really nice.
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7941
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Sunlight going through mountain?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2017, 02:57:50 PM »
Echo Dune's comment...it has a really natural feel except for the Sun error.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

 

anything