Author Topic: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)  (Read 1026 times)

Offline cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3528
    • richardfraser
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2017, 09:33:22 PM »
I think the terragen one looks better.
www.richardfraser.co.uk
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb
i7 2600k @3.4Ghz, 16Gb
i7 980 @3.33Ghz, 16Gb

Online KyL

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 109
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2017, 11:16:41 PM »
Nice result! Yours is definitely sharper.

Also I forgot to mention that bur for example in in your roughness image map shader, you should change the projection type to "object UV". If you leave it by default it is not going to match the color texture as it will be projected from the top, which is going to look really weird!

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2816
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2017, 12:19:46 AM »
Hi Doug,

The way you are using both a displacement image and displacement function, The Default Shader will multiply them both together. I don't think that's what you want.

The same for your roughness image and roughness function.

Matt
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 12:23:50 AM by Matt »
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 964
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2017, 12:40:50 AM »
Hi Matt, I guess my approach was to keep adjusting the settings and 'eyeballing' the image. Not very scientific for sure.  So if my misuse of the shader logic produces an acceptable image, would proper settings improve the image?  :) I did about 40 render variations of various settings and the combination attached seemed the best looking of the lot; given the ones I used, what would be a more optimal range?

Thanks Kyl I'll change that and re-render.

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2816
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2017, 12:51:57 AM »
Well, given that the image map shaders had the wrong projection mode, they are probably just confusing the results and I would just take them out. Simply plug your image filenames into the image fields of the Default Shader and tweak the multipliers from there.

Having said that, if you use the Image Map Shader plugged into the function input you have more options for colour space (gamma versus linear), and that might get you closer with the roughness and bump. But I doubt it matters on this particular asset. If you do go down that route, use them instead of the built-in image field, but not both at the same time.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 964
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2017, 01:08:19 AM »
Thanks Matt, I'll do as you suggest.

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 964
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2017, 04:24:38 PM »
See below
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 04:29:36 PM by zaxxon »

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 964
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #22 on: March 08, 2017, 04:30:38 PM »
I've probably killed enough brain cells in this exercise. ;) However, I think that I can better reproduce the quality of the assets in TG which was my goal. I did as Matt suggested and used just the image maps in the default shader slots with good results. I also used the functions without the image maps in the default slots (except for the albedo map), also with good results. Tempting the fates, I used both the default image slots as well as the function slots for specular and displacement. Finally I added one more example which had a higher displacement multiplier. To my eye the images are pretty close, there is a detail blow-up of the area in the asset that was my comparison point and honestly I really don't see much difference. The simplest solution to just use the default shader slots is probably the best (easy beats complicated   :)). here's the breakdown:

Example A:  Using only the image slots in the default shader. Albedo in color image slot. Specular map in reflectivity slot, no roughness image, roughness set to .8. 'Bump' map in Displacemt image slot, did not use             provided displacement image.

Example B:  Function driven (mostly). Albedo in default shader color image slot. No specular image in reflectivity slot, roughness image connected to roughness function. No displacement image in displacement image slot, 'bump' image connected to displacement function.

Example C:  Dual map use in Specular and Displacement. Albedo in default shader color image slot. Specular image in reflectivity slot, roughness image connected to roughness function. Displacement image in displacement slot, 'Bump' image connected to displacement function.

Example D:  Same as Example C except for higher displacement multiplier: .67 to 1.5. Higher multiplier on       Example A distorted the texture.


Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 964
Re: PBR shader setup in TG (was re: Speedtree 8)
« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2017, 04:33:00 PM »
attached the wrong image above, damn... I did say I had damaged some brain cells though.

 

anything