Author Topic: Cascades Lake  (Read 529 times)

Offline Gannaingh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 793
Cascades Lake
« on: March 02, 2017, 09:49:05 PM »
Another generic scene trying to replicate the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. I might be addicted.

Terragen 4 has been giving me some problems recently; if I have more than about three large populations in a scene my computer will lock up. However, the exact same scene will render just fine in TG3. To make this one I had to render the scene in TG3 with a clear sky and render a separate version with the clouds which were layered in photoshop. Beyond adding soft reflections to the water and increasing the specularity of the rocks at the water line it's pretty clsoe to how I want it.


Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6039
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 09:53:30 PM »
Happy to see you're still making nice renders :)
Did you report the issues you experienced?

Besides rendering it again with the improvements you already have planned for, what else are you considering to do/add/change?

Offline Gannaingh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 793
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2017, 10:18:22 PM »
Yep, I'm still here!

I haven't reported it yet because I'm not entirely convinced it's a Terragen issue. My computer has been a bit wonky recently.

I'm thinking about giving some more TLC to the foreground on the left side of the image. I might add some tall shore grass and lily to extend the vegetation closer to the camera and to cover up the noise in the water's reflection due to the grass.

Offline Jo Kariboo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1140
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 02:52:17 AM »
Very natural!

Offline fleetwood

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1083
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2017, 03:19:08 AM »
Like it a lot. Good realism.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11263
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2017, 05:21:13 AM »
How much RAM do you have? Have you monitored memory use during render?

- Oshyan

Offline archonforest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3006
  • !AMIGA RULEZ!
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2017, 06:46:53 AM »
great vista. i wish to be there!! :)
...many rooms to explore but the doors look the same...

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1036
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2017, 01:46:02 PM »
Very pretty! I would fish here!

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 902
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2017, 01:57:26 PM »
A lovely addiction!  ;). Once again your love for the Pacific Northwest shows in your images. Beautiful. Odd problem with the populations and not one I've experienced in TG 4. Perhaps Ram is the issue. But the image as it stands is very natural and lovely.

Offline Hannes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3341
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2017, 02:13:20 PM »
Beautiful!!! Too bad, that you have these problems.

Offline Gannaingh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 793
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2017, 03:48:14 PM »
Thanks everybody!

Oshyan, I have 8 GB of RAM. During the rendering of this latest version in TG3 RAM usage never rose above 7.1 GB. I'll need to do a test run to monitor usage in TG4.

I think the soft reflection and the reeds and lily pas around the shore really add to the image. Thanks for looking!

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7484
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2017, 04:33:43 PM »

Great render.

Offline Gannaingh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 793
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2017, 06:35:04 PM »
When rendering in TG4 it does seem that I'm running out of RAM. I've attached a screenshot of the error message for reference.

Strangely, when I send it to PixelPlow, using TG4, I get the following message:

"Your job, job92156621567420, has encountered multiple slice errors during rendering

Warning: SetParamFromString: Unknown parameter: "minimum_threads" in class: renderC:\Windows\system32>IF NOT ERRORLEVEL 0 set retvar=-1073741819
"

I don't really know what that means, but I've sent a message to PixelPlow support asking what I can do to resolve the problem on my end.

Offline zaxxon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 902
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2017, 06:43:56 PM »
The changes are very subtle and very nice. Working with 8 gigs makes it tough these days though.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11263
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Cascades Lake
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2017, 07:57:37 PM »
Oshyan, I have 8 GB of RAM. During the rendering of this latest version in TG3 RAM usage never rose above 7.1 GB. I'll need to do a test run to monitor usage in TG4.

Well there's your problem, I'm afraid. It sounds like in TG3 you're already near the limit of your RAM (the OS needs some memory too, so it's actually a bit surprising that TG can use 7.1GB without crashing). TG4 definitely uses more memory for rendering, especially for objects and for new v3 clouds. So it seems like a pretty clear case of running out of memory indeed.

I'm surprised you've been able to do as much amazing work as you have with only 8GB! Surely you can upgrade? Maybe get one of those new AMD Ryzen CPUs in an affordable "monster" render box, and get 32GB of RAM. :D

- Oshyan