Author Topic: Low on memory  (Read 471 times)

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Low on memory
« on: February 16, 2017, 06:28:31 AM »
Any idea as to what could be happening here? Has anyone else encountered similar issues?

Offline archonforest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3132
  • !AMIGA RULEZ!
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 06:43:29 AM »
Yep several times...
When u render high resolution with high micro polly and AA then it uses lots of ram. One of my picture used up to 23Gb of ram while doing the final HD render.
...many rooms to explore but the doors look the same...

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 07:22:49 AM »
I thought as much and modifying the Virtual Memory settings, it appears to be solved at the moment.

Offline N-drju

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 780
  • Changes, changes, changes...
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 09:12:24 AM »
Ahhh, yes. The recurrent RAM woes...

It's just what it sounds. You either require more memory, or you can crank down some settings. Maybe also crop-render? Inserting lots of custom-made objects with varied textures also eats up the RAM. The latter is most serious trouble according to my observations.

Silly me - when I viewed the second attachment I actually clicked "OK"! ;D
"I don't know what 'pokygon' is but I like it."

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11428
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 05:44:43 PM »
Indeed, a major memory problem, running out of space. What are your detail settings, including micropoly detail, AA, GI, cloud and atmosphere samples, and soft shadow samples on light(s)?

I also want to mention that if you were customizing the Subdiv Cache sizes in previous versions of Terragen, you should not do so with TG4. We've put that setting into Subdiv Settings, but I think it may remain customized if you load an older project. So if you're rendering something you originally created in TG3 and you customized the subdiv cache size, returning that to auto may help reduce memory use.

- Oshyan

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2805
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 07:42:41 PM »
I also want to mention that if you were customizing the Subdiv Cache sizes in previous versions of Terragen, you should not do so with TG4.

I agree.

Quote
We've put that setting into Subdiv Settings, but I think it may remain customized if you load an older project. So if you're rendering something you originally created in TG3 and you customized the subdiv cache size, returning that to auto may help reduce memory use.

You don't need to worry about this because it ignores the old setting. The change log says this:

"Settings to control the size of the subdiv cache will not be carried over from previous projects. The renderer now ignores these settings unless "Override size of subdiv cache" is turned on. By default it's off."

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11428
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2017, 07:54:49 PM »
Ah, well... thanks for schooling me Matt. :D

- Oshyan

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2017, 11:31:24 AM »
It occurred again but it turns out that there was too many Easy clouds, about five. I reduced the number to three and no issues what so ever.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11428
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2017, 04:27:27 AM »
Ah, well that explains a bit. Easy Clouds use the new "v3" cloud scattering model which does use more memory than "v2" clouds (all clouds in TG3 were "v2"). The more layers of v3 clouds you use, the more cloud interaction there is, and the higher the memory use and render time.

- Oshyan

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 05:15:26 AM »
I would have come to that conclusion sooner but I might have thought something else was causing the issue. It is alright though. There is usually other ways around such a dilemma.

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1228
Re: Low on memory
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2017, 09:01:45 PM »
No wonder his skies are always so cool.

 

anything