Author Topic: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors  (Read 513 times)

Offline Ben3D

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« on: November 07, 2016, 04:22:18 PM »
Hello, I have a problem with terrain colors in TG4.

68289-068291-168293-268295-3

As you can see at the bottom of each render is a line where a different color shows on the terrain. The renders are the same except for the resolution. The colored region changes depending on the resolution and camera angle. I have put a link of a cleaned version of the project in case anyone can tell me if I'm doing something wrong or if this is a bug.

TG4 Version 4.0.04 Windows 64 bits.

http://Prezeau.net/Bug.zip

Thanks.

Offline yossam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3063
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2016, 05:41:27 PM »
The sky color appears to be changing also.  ;)

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11544
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2016, 06:10:00 PM »
You disabled the Background Node and this is creating unpredictable results. In general the Background Node is required to give "normal" rendering results. Re-enable it and the problem appears to go away.

- Oshyan

Offline Ben3D

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2016, 08:06:34 PM »
Yossam: I don't notice a difference in sky color but that may be my eyes  ;)

Oshyan: That did the trick. Thanks! In the original project I had 2 backgrounds: the original and a stars clip file that I found in this forum. I activated both and they seem to work together. At least, the result is correct. Is there a way to add the standard background when removed? I added it from a clip file of another Terragen file but I can't find how to add it from Terragen itself.

Offline Ben3D

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2016, 08:15:43 PM »
Finally, the 2 backgrounds didn't play nice as it seemed at first so I have re-deactivated the original background and chosen a camera angle that doesn't show the color change as I really like the stars.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11544
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2016, 09:56:22 PM »
You should be able to *replace* the default background with the Stars one, that should work fine.

- Oshyan

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12366
  • Corkscrew Bird
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2016, 07:15:09 AM »
You could just make one with a huge, inverted (-2e+008), no-shadow sphere and a constant (2x black) shader.
In case you still haven't seen enough of my work: www.ulco-art.nl

Offline Ben3D

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2016, 01:43:29 PM »
Oshyan: I tried to use only the stars background but it didn't work. I don't know how to correct the problem since I am not the one who made the clip file but I made a render with the stars and no back and then a second render without the stars and the back and combined the renders to make a single correct image. Thanks.

Dune: Thanks.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11544
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2016, 09:15:38 PM »
Without knowing how the stars clip was setup or where you got it, I can't say how to fix it. But it ought to be possible... The background shader node is basically just a big sphere that the whole scene is inside of. If you assign a texture (procedural or otherwise) to it, it will show up in the background of your renders. That's the basic principle of how star shaders usually work in TG.

- Oshyan

Offline Ben3D

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Strange Bug with Terrain Colors
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2016, 09:31:56 PM »
OK, thanks.

 

anything