Author Topic: Rock  (Read 1533 times)

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Rock
« on: August 21, 2016, 10:23:29 PM »
Ten different types of rock. Based on current experiments.

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7189
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Rock
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 11:18:26 PM »
Ten different types of rock. Based on current experiments.

An embaeassment of riches with rocks today. I also uploaded a link to 10 .obj rocks over at renderosity, heh heh...then I noticed this and now I have 20 new rocks.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Rock
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 11:43:13 PM »
One can never have enough rock.

Offline masonspappy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1629
  • "I am my own worst-case scenario"
Re: Rock
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 11:56:39 PM »
Nice collection. Thanks!

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Rock
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2016, 11:24:53 PM »
You are welcome. Hopefully what is there allows room for much experimentation. I still have it in mind to share the one hundred or so functions, hopefully that will follow soon.

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1162
Re: Rock
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2016, 06:42:55 PM »
One can never have enough rock.

I second that! Thankyou!

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1162
Re: Rock
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2016, 08:21:45 PM »
I will ask here because it is shared here. I have no problem adding a single rock from this share. How would one make a population from this? I tried to import my own sphere to use for a population and attach a modified clip version (starting with everything but the original sphere) as displacement function to default shader but for me it is not working.  I also tried the TG rock population. My clip distorts a fake stone shader but does not replicate your displacement.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11351
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Rock
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2016, 12:32:30 AM »
As far as I know these are using Fake Stones or other Displacement, they are not *objects*. Only objects can be populated. So the answer is you can't populate these rock shader networks.

- Oshyan

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7189
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Rock
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2016, 03:23:18 AM »
As far as I know these are using Fake Stones or other Displacement, they are not *objects*. Only objects can be populated. So the answer is you can't populate these rock shader networks.

- Oshyan

I opened one in note pad and saw Sphere, will take it to my tg computer and check it out


rock 1 is a sphere...so all likely are and Spheres can't be populated

but the ones I uploaded are all .objs so can be populated.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2016, 03:29:43 AM by bobbystahr »
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline N-drju

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 755
  • Changes, changes, changes...
Re: Rock
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2016, 06:04:28 AM »
Yes, it's a pity native rocks cannot be populated. Why? :(

They offer great variety and can make for good rocks in a "standalone" mode. Much better than the "rock" native object if you ask me...
"I don't know what 'pokygon' is but I like it."

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1162
Re: Rock
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2016, 11:36:55 AM »
These files are wonderful examples of displacement. I shall study that part, at least. But they sure would be nice in a population. ;D

Thanks @ Bobby Stahr for checking that. I can make an imported sphere population. Would the proper way to make a clip of just the displacement be to box select the nodes, all but the sphere? I tried that, but in a population I do not get much but something resembling a sputnick.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2016, 11:41:06 AM by luvsmuzik »

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11351
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Rock
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2016, 01:42:10 AM »
You can't populate native *displaceable* objects of any kind (including rocks). That's the limitation. It's related to the overall issue with ray tracing of displacement, I believe.

- Oshyan

Offline luvsmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1162
Re: Rock
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2016, 12:15:02 PM »
Thank you Oshyan for the final answer. A patient person with TG creative or Pro could add these at their leisure. Wonderful share regardless!

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Rock
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2016, 12:37:29 PM »
When I built these rocks, they were more meant to be hero rocks. It is a shame they can not be populated, perhaps someday. I am working on a number of Fake stone shaders so those will cover an entire planet in this case. I want to provide at least twenty or thirty different types of stones. I am halfway finished as of current.

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2790
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Rock
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2016, 11:12:38 PM »
You can't populate native *displaceable* objects of any kind (including rocks). That's the limitation. It's related to the overall issue with ray tracing of displacement, I believe.

- Oshyan

You can populate the built-in Rock object because it's one of the populatable types, not the fully displaceable type. But if you're building rocks from built-in spheres, they can't be populated yet.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

 

anything