Author Topic: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4  (Read 6336 times)

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6906
  • Band
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #30 on: February 22, 2016, 05:10:31 PM »
Just saved a test render of an older file in TG3.4 beta and it saved automatically in .bmp...thought that had changed to .tif in this version or did it default t the older version.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #31 on: February 22, 2016, 09:29:30 PM »
Near as I can remember this is the first real beta since 1.9.0.3.1.  And it's a limited beta.  Just curious, why is this version different?  Other than being the last likely version of Terragen 3, I mean.

The alpha testers usually test every release candidate before it becomes a general release. However, this time around we didn't get enough feedback. For most of the testers it was a downgrade from Terragen 4 Alpha, even though it's an important update to TG3.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #32 on: February 22, 2016, 09:48:27 PM »
Just saved a test render of an older file in TG3.4 beta and it saved automatically in .bmp...thought that had changed to .tif in this version or did it default t the older version.

If you're just saving a render from the Render View, it will save with the format you choose in the file save dialog. This defaults to whatever you have set in Preferences: File Saving. In your case it's probably still set to BMP. The 3.4 update won't change this setting for you. I recommend changing this to TIFF 8-bit-LZW as it saves a lot of disk space compared to BMP.

The new default setting mentioned in the change log only affects the settings on the render node's "Sequence/Output" tab ("Output image filename" and "Extra output images") which are used by the buttons "Render All To Disk" and "Render Sequence". Also, the only time this default matters is when TG initially sets up these filenames when creating a new project or new render node, so it won't change an existing project that you loaded.

Matt
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 09:50:39 PM by Matt »
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6906
  • Band
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2016, 11:28:59 PM »
Just saved a test render of an older file in TG3.4 beta and it saved automatically in .bmp...thought that had changed to .tif in this version or did it default t the older version.

If you're just saving a render from the Render View, it will save with the format you choose in the file save dialog. This defaults to whatever you have set in Preferences: File Saving. In your case it's probably still set to BMP. The 3.4 update won't change this setting for you. I recommend changing this to TIFF 8-bit-LZW as it saves a lot of disk space compared to BMP.

The new default setting mentioned in the change log only affects the settings on the render node's "Sequence/Output" tab ("Output image filename" and "Extra output images") which are used by the buttons "Render All To Disk" and "Render Sequence". Also, the only time this default matters is when TG initially sets up these filenames when creating a new project or new render node, so it won't change an existing project that you loaded.

Matt


D'oh, shoulda sussed that but I'm off my feed today it seems...thanks Matt
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline Kevin F

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 985
    • picassa a/c
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #34 on: February 23, 2016, 09:58:09 AM »
Windows


Offline A4size

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • http://www.pixiv.net/member.php?id=327721
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #35 on: February 23, 2016, 11:16:53 AM »
Windows.
From Japan.  / a4size.3dcg@gmail.com
I am afraid I am not good at English.  | Twitter - http://twitter.com/A4sizeCG
CGHUB  | http://a4size.cghub.com/

Offline Clay

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 501
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #36 on: February 23, 2016, 05:07:29 PM »
MAC

Offline otakar

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1114
  • Procrastinate later.
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #37 on: February 23, 2016, 06:03:06 PM »
Windows

Offline Ironshirt

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #38 on: February 24, 2016, 10:28:15 AM »
Linux  :P

(sorry, couldn't resist :D)
« Last Edit: February 24, 2016, 10:31:23 AM by Ironshirt »

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6906
  • Band
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2016, 06:13:09 PM »
Happy to report that the opacity channel maps load on first use of an imported .obj. Went back to an old TG2 project and reloaded the house with no glass and just the glass separated out first after deleting the original so it was a first load in TG3.4 and you can see from the yellow-orange light coming out the opacity maps worked and the glass is nicely reflecting where appropriate. I'm uploading the image to Image sharing as there seems to be no way from here. Default Street...... will be in the title.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2615
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #40 on: February 24, 2016, 10:45:40 PM »
Great, good to hear it is working out well now.

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6906
  • Band
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #41 on: February 26, 2016, 09:15:27 PM »
Anyone getting any crashes. I just got one editing a texture on a .tgo. Just changing maps. Very odd.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline Rumburak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 110
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #42 on: February 26, 2016, 09:24:26 PM »
No crashes so far. Everything is working fine.

Offline AP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2615
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #43 on: February 26, 2016, 10:51:00 PM »
Anyone getting any crashes. I just got one editing a texture on a .tgo. Just changing maps. Very odd.

I will have to check that out on my end and post here is the same problem arises.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 11260
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Call for Beta Testers: Terragen 3.4
« Reply #44 on: February 27, 2016, 02:29:20 AM »
Anyone getting any crashes. I just got one editing a texture on a .tgo. Just changing maps. Very odd.

Can you reproduce the crash? Was there any error message or other diagnostic info?

- Oshyan