Author Topic: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop  (Read 3563 times)


Offline cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3511
    • richardfraser
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2013, 01:24:40 PM »
Great tutorial, much needed and very welcome.
A question. In the last part of the process when you convert to 16 bit do you have to flatten the image or can you keep the layers and keep working on them separately?
Cheers
Richard
www.richardfraser.co.uk
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb
i7 2600k @3.4Ghz, 16Gb
i7 980 @3.33Ghz, 16Gb

Offline digitalguru

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 160
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2013, 01:42:36 PM »
Flatten

I tried converting to 16bit and keeping the layers separate, but it does affect the colours, they don't match the control image rendered from Nuke.

There may be around this that I don't know of, or it's just not possible :-)

At the moment it seems a reasonable workflow to do any operation that requires blending of the elements before flattening, you'll mostly need exposure, levels opcacity blending, desaturation using the depth pass (as you mentioned) and final tweaks using any favorite filters etc after a flatten to 16bit.

I think it may be something to do with the fact that conversion to 16 bit clamps the image (as shown in the tutorial) -it's now a 16 bit integer format rather than being 16 bit float - so the addition of those values are changed
« Last Edit: August 04, 2013, 02:21:16 PM by digitalguru »

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7530
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2013, 06:05:36 PM »

I will look at your video later . Thanks.
Did you saw what i wrote about Photoline and Photoshop in this thread?
http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,16483.0.html

Interesting that the supposed best software lacks in this.
Photoline looked better in that aspect but i had still no time to test it...
Even Serif Photoplus had better HDR handling when i tested 1-2 years ago.

Offline digitalguru

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 160
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2013, 06:37:50 PM »
Nice image!

re: Photoshop, you can drag in an EXR ok (CS6) -

Photoshops 32 bit tools are still pretty limited - but then, why improve them when they can sell you After Effects to do this kind of work?

for your alpha, if you mean the parachute - check out

Terragen - integrating 3d elements and the spherical camera
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFxVA4ZHAp8

Terragen will output an alpha channel if you render the parachute separately - is that what you mean?

hear a lot of people talking about Blender - it has a compositing program built in and it's fee - might be another option to try.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7530
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2013, 06:52:16 PM »
Thanks .
"Terragen will output an alpha channel if you render the parachute separately - is that what you mean?"  yes.

"Photoshops 32 bit tools are still pretty limited -
but then, why improve them when they can sell you After Effects to do this kind of work?
"  looks that you are very right about this :)

Offline SteveR

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Terragen 3 - Render Elements in Photoshop
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2013, 06:00:08 AM »
Thank you so much for this :) v appreciated.